wviewweather.com Forum Index wviewweather.com
wview and Weather Topics

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Mutiple stations download

Post new topic   Reply to topic    wviewweather.com Forum Index -> wview Installation
View previous topic :: View next topic  
alvi

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 1:00 pm    Post subject: Mutiple stations download Reply with quote

Hi,

Newbie here. I hope this has not been asked before (in which case please point me to the relevant info, as I was unable to find it myself).

I need to download data from several stations and was wondering if wview could be used for this purpose.

The stations are linked using proprietary packet radio modems which need some special bytes to be sent to select the specific remote modem (similar to dialing a number, but I need to send some binary data). Once selected the local serial port is linked to the remove modem more or less via a transparent serial link (i.e. all details of the packet radio are hidden from the local PC).

Thank you for helping.
cw

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 9:29 pm    Post subject: Re: Multiple Station Download Reply with quote

At this time I do not believe that wview has the capability to work with multiple stations. The file format that wview uses for its native data storage is the file format that Davis uses for their software. This goes back to the roots of wview where it was originally designed to support the Davis station. Later the ability to talk to a station was abstracted so other stations could be supported. The existing file format is robust enough that there has been no reason to change it. There are currently 2 stations supported along with a demo station. You are welcome to add additional ones but adding support for multiple stations would be a pretty big change.
alvi