wviewweather.com Forum Index wviewweather.com
wview and Weather Topics

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

setting up tnftp for Mac OS 10.4.3

View previous topic :: View next topic  
WJClancey

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 6:52 pm    Post subject: setting up tnftp for Mac OS 10.4.3 Reply with quote

After installing wview successfully in Mac OS 10.4 (but not running it yet), I moved on to preparing for ftp.

I followed instructions for installing tnftp, but now have no ftp at all. I've spent about 3 hours on this. I have no Unix experience since the late 1970s when we were running DEC mainframes, and would appreciate any help.

1. started by running /usr/bin/ftp --> indicated version was not tnftp, so I proceeded with tnftp installation.

2. followed instructions given in the user manual "Setting up FTP Transfers"); did not find /usr/kerberos...
Trying to run ftp via "/usr/bin/ftp" now produces "-bash: /usr/bin/ftp: No such file or directory"

3. I've removed tnftp-20050625 folder several times and retried installation in different ways with "./configure --prefix=/opt/local" and searching for ftp in /usr/bin, /usr/local, /opt/local. All I find are an ftp folder in wview-1.9.0 and ftp.o inside this folder. I found directions on internet to copy tnftp-20050625 folder to /tmp and do make, but that didn't help.

4. I'm not sure it happened the first time, but "sudo make install" returns "make: `install' is up to date."

5. last logged line in "sudo make" is
gcc -g -O2 -L../libedit -L../libnetbsd -o ftp cmds.o cmdtab.o complete.o domacro.o fetch.o ftp.o main.o progressbar.o ruserpass.o util.o -ledit -ledit -ltermcap -lnetbsd

That looks encouraging, as it mentions ftp.

6. After some attempts yesterday, I had these two pointers in /usr/bin:
lrwxr-xr-x 1 root wheel 18 Dec 17 18:10 ftp -> /opt/local/bin/ftp